Tomorrow, teams from different ends of the VTB League standings will meet on the Megasport floor. CSKA will host Minsk...

In search for ourselves

Victory or honor?

The Belarusian team came to Moscow not from home, but straight from Perm, where on Sunday, under the pressure of a packed Molot, they played a very competitive game. The Minsk team was leading by 10 after three quarters, but ran out of gas in the last segment, lost in a difficult fight and were left without a single win. The fatigue factor affects, first of all, the undisputed leader of the team, Jarred Ogungbemi-Jackson, who averages 18.2 points in 33.7 minutes on the floor.

The guests say that their task is to impose a fight and show their level, but still, even a formal outsider has enough ambition to think about winning. At the very least, efforts can be expected from Minsk side.

“Our guests are a physical and fast team,” CSKA head coach Emil Rajkovic said. “That’s why it’s important for us to also run and play physical. Now we need to show our basketball and gradually get in shape.”

We have guests for two days

The red-blues practiced in the Megasport only once - on the eve of the game. CSKA remains without Nikita Kurbanov, but is gradually returns Ivan Ukhov, whose participation in the meeting with Minsk remains in question.

Meanwhile, the Tuesday evening practice was held in the presence of spectators. The team made the dream of girls from the CSKA Sports School come true. They really wanted to attend the practice of their idols. The 12-year-old basketball players watched five-on-five sparring, saw shooting drills and, of course, took pictures and got autographs.

Past matchups

Wins/losses: 26-0

Games of 2022-23 VTB United League Regular Season:

08-Oct-2022. CSKA - Minsk: 107-63 (+44)
09-Dec-2022. Minsk - CSKA: 66-101 (+35)

Brief dossier

Minsk, Belarus

Founded: 2006
Colors: blue, white
Home court: Minsk-Arena (15,000), Falcon Club (2,300)
CEO: Yuri Shakola
Head coach: Rostislav Vergun
Website: minskbasket.by
Trophy case: 15-time Belarusian champion (2009-23), 14-time Belarusian Cup winner (2010-23)


Please login to post a comment